Wicca Witchcraft is not  just about casting spells and working magic.

                 Wicca is also a wonderful life living religion, a continuous celebration of

                  all aspects of life. In all, Wiccans celebrate 21 festivals

                  (Rituals) each year. These are broken down into eight main

                  festivals called “Sabbats” marking the suns annual cycle and

                  that of life and nature. The other thirteen festivals are Full

                  Moon celebrations called “Esbats” when they gather together to

                  honor the Goddess and God.



The four Lesser Sabbats contain the “Solstices” and  “Equinoxes”, the astronomical beginnings of the seasons. Again their dates may vary by a day or two each year, as they depend upon the sun’s entry into the zodiacal signs of: Aries (Spring), Cancer (Summer), Libra (Autumn), and Capricorn (Winter).

These are:


Ostara - (Northern Hemisphere March 21st, Southern Hemisphere September 22nd) also known as: The Spring Equinox


Litha - (Northern Hemisphere June 21st, Southern Hemisphere December 21st) also known as: The Summer Solstice

Madon - (Northern Hemisphere September 21st, Southern Hemisphere March 21st) also known as: The Autumn Equinox


Yule -  (Northern Hemisphere December 21st, Southern Hemisphere June 21st) also known as: The Winter Solstice


Sabbats then are solar rituals, marking the points of the sun's yearly cycle, and are but half of the Wiccan ritual year. The other half is made up with "Esbats",  the Full Moon celebrations (see esbats for more information)


The eight main festivals are further broken down into four Greater Sabbats, and four Lesser Sabbats. The four Greater Sabbats are those  associated with agriculture and the bearing cycles of animals, thus their dates my vary slightly from year to year.


They are known by a  variety of names including:


Imbolc - (Northern Hemisphere February 2nd, Southern Hemisphere August 1st) also known as: Oimelc / Candlemas


Beltane- (Northern Hemisphere April 30th, Southern Hemisphere October 31st) also known as: Roodmas / May Eve / Walpurgis Night

Lughnasadh -  (Northern Hemisphere August 1st, Southern Hemisphere February 1st) also known as: Lammas


Samhain - (Northern Hemisphere October 31st, Southern Hemisphere May 1st) also known as: Hallowmas / Halloween


The Sabbats